Shown in English, this animated and family-friendly film begins at 8:30 p.m. on Wednesday, July 24
EUGENE, Ore. -- (July 9, 2013) – The Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art hosts a free, outdoor screening of Jean-François Laguionie’s animated film “The Painting,” on Wednesday, July 24, at 8:30 p.m. Shown in the University of Oregon’s Memorial Quad, outside the museum’s front entrance, this screening features the English version of the family-friendly French film. Free non-alcoholic beverages will be provided.
In this wryly inventive parable, made in 2011, Laguionie designed the characters himself; they include homages to such painters as Marc Chagall, Amedeo Modigliani, Pablo Picasso, and Henri Matisse.
The story involves a kingdom that is divided into three castes: the impeccably painted Alldunns, who reside in a majestic palace; the Halfies, who the Painter has left incomplete; and the untouchable Sketchies, who are portrayed through simple charcoal outlines and banished to a cursed forest.
Chastised for her forbidden love for Ramo, an Alldunn, and shamed by her unadorned face, Halfie Claire runs away into the forest. Her beloved Ramo and best friend, Lola, journey after her, passing between the forbidden Death Flowers that guard the boundaries of the forest, and arriving finally at the very edge of the painting – where they tumble through the canvas and into the Painter’s studio. The abandoned workspace is strewn with paintings, each containing its own animated world. Ina feast for both the eyes and imagination, they explore first one picture and then another, attempting to discover just what the Painter has in mind for all his creations.
Born in 1939 in Besançon, French animation auteur Jean-François Laguionie developed a passion for drawing in his youth. After completing graphic studies at the Arts Appliqués, he met the legendary French animator Paul Grimault who introduced him to the art of animation. They shared a workshop for ten years, where Languione worked as a solitary craftsman on his first animation shorts and studied under the master. His work was met with critical praise, leading up to “Rowing Across the Atlantic,” which received theCannes Festival Palme d’Or for best short film. In 1979, tired of working alone, Laguionie established a studio and created his first feature film, the poetic and trance-like “Gwen, or the Book of Sand.” “The Painting” is Laguionie’s fourth feature film.
About the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art
The University of Oregon's Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art is a premier Pacific Northwest museum for exhibitions and collections of historic and contemporary art based in a major university setting. The mission of the museum is to enhance the University of Oregon’s academic mission and to further the appreciation and enjoyment of the visual arts for the general public. The JSMA features significant collections galleries devoted to art from China, Japan, Korea, America, Europe and elsewhere as well as changing special exhibition galleries. The JSMA is one of six museums in the state of Oregon—and the only university museum--accredited by the American Alliance of Museums.
The Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art is located on the University of Oregon campus at 1430 Johnson Lane. Museum hours are 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. Wednesdays, and 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays through Sundays. Admission is $5 for adults and $3 for senior citizens. Free admission is given to ages 18 and under, JSMA members, college students with ID, and University of Oregon faculty, staff and students. For information, contact the JSMA, 541-346-3027.
About the University of Oregon
The University of Oregon is among the 108 institutions chosen from 4,633 U.S. universities for top-tier designation of "Very High Research Activity" in the 2010 Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. The UO also is one of two Pacific Northwest members of the Association of American Universities.
Contact: Debbie Williamson Smith, 541-346-0942, firstname.lastname@example.org
Links: Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art, http://jsma.uoregon.edu